Call toll-free, 24x7


Mike Lyons Maui Community Award

Application Due April 18

Download Application here

Bank of Hawaii Foundation is accepting applications for the 2014 Mike Lyons Maui Community Award. The award provides one or more grants totaling up to $25,000. Nonprofit 501 (c) (3) tax-exempt organizations on Maui, Lanai and Molokai are invited to submit applications by April 18. Nominations may be made by the public or the organizations themselves.

Award selection will be based on: 
a) exemplary fulfillment of the organization’s mission;
b) the leadership demonstrated by the organization’s executive director and board; and
c) the organization’s engagement in one of the following focus areas: community development, education, human services, and arts and culture.

Additional consideration will be given to organizations that also focus on community development through financial education programs. The award will be presented on June 25.

Award brochures/application forms must be postmarked no later than April 18, and are available at all Bank of Hawaii branches in Maui County. Nomination materials should be submitted to:
   Maui Regional Office
   Bank of Hawaii
   2105 Main Street, Wailuku, Hawaii 96793

About Mike Lyons
The award was established in honor of the late, retired Senior Vice President and Maui District Manager Michael H. Lyons II, who was a dedicated community leader throughout his 41-year career with the bank.

Previous Recipients of the Bank of Hawaii Mike Lyons Maui Community Award
In 2013, the award was divided among the following nonprofits:

  • Akaku Maui County Community TV ($5,000)
  • Seabury Hall ($15,000)
  • The Maui Farm, Inc. ($5,000)
In 2012, the award was divided among the following nonprofits:
  • Habitat for Humanity Maui ($5,000)
  • Lana'i Community Health Center ($15,000)
  • Maui Economic Development Board, Inc. ($5,000)
In 2011, the award was divided among the following nonprofits:
  • Community Clinic of Maui, dba Malama I Ke Ola Health Center ($5,000)
  • Hale Mahaolu Akahi, Inc. ($10,000)
  • Hui Malama Learning Center ($10,000)
In 2010, the award was increased to $20,000, which was divided equally between the following four nonprofit organizations:
  • Fun Day Foundation, A Keiki’s Dream
  • Hale Makua Health Services
  • Maui County Salvation Army
  • Maui Economic Concerns of the Community

Previous recipients include:

  • 2009, Haleakala Waldorf School
  • 2008, Friends of the Children’s Justice Center of Maui
  • 2007, Women Helping Women
  • 2006, Maui Adult Day Care Centers (MADCC)
  • 2005, Hale Kau Kau
  • 2004, Maui County Council – Boy Scouts of America