Call toll-free, 24x7


Monty Richards Hawaii Island Community Award

Application Due July 7, 2017

Download Application here

Monty Richards Award 2015

Bank of Hawaii is now accepting nominations/applications for the 2017 Monty Richards Hawaii Island Community Award. Hawaii County nonprofit organizations are invited to submit applications by July 7. The award provides one or more grants totaling up to $30,000. Nominations may be made by the public or by the 501(c) (3) tax-exempt organizations themselves.

The award was established in 2008 in honor of Herbert "Monty" Montague Richards, Jr., a dedicated Hawaii Island community leader and former longtime board director for Bank of Hawaii.

Bank of Hawaii Foundation is interested in supporting nonprofit programs that help Hawaii Island youth, particularly youth who are members of low- to moderate-income households, to develop the knowledge and skills needed to thrive and compete in today’s world. Programs might involve, for example, internships, jobs (first jobs, summer jobs or part-time jobs), or other leadership, entrepreneurship or skills training. We are interested in programs that work in partnership with educators, government or business to build and strengthen Hawaii’s science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education-to-workforce pipeline. We are also interested in programs that prepare youth for opportunities in the environmental industry, contributing to the health and sustainability of Hawaii Island.

Award brochures/application forms are available at all Hawaii Island District branches. Nomination materials should be submitted to:

Bank of Hawaii Foundation
P.O. Box 3170
Honolulu, HI 96802-3170
111 South King Street, 4th Floor
Honolulu, HI 96813

About Monty Richards
Richards served as a board director at Bank of Hawaii from 1989 to 2000. He was also a regent at the University of Hawaii for 16 years and is a board member of The Nature Conservancy of Hawaii. He is a past member of the board of Hawaii Commission on Water Resource Management.

A fifth-generation kama‘aina, Richards, presently serves as the chairman and trustee of Kahua Ranch, where he has worked since 1953. Richards has been recognized as an innovator for his strides in bringing alternative renewable energy to the ranch and as being the first on Hawaii Island to use rapid rotational grazing, and to experiment with hydroponic (soil-less) farming, solar energy and wind energy. He also diversified his livestock by integrating sheep into his herd, which has resulted in one of the largest flocks in the state.

Bank of Hawaii Foundation Monty Richards Hawaii Island Community Award

In 2016, the $36,000 award was divided equally among:
  • East Hawaii Cultural Council
  • Holualoa Foundation for Arts and Culture
  • Kamuela Philharmonic Orchestra Society
  • Kanu o ka ‘Aina Learning ‘Ohana
  • Volcano Art Center
  • Kahilu Theatre Foundation
In 2015, the $30,000 award was divided equally between:
  • ‘Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii
  • The Kohala Center
In 2014, the $30,000 award was equally divided among:
  • Hawaii Island Adult Care
  • Ka‘u Hospital Charitable Foundation
  • Kona Historical Society

In 2013 the award, the $25,000 award was divided among:

  • Friends of the Future’s Hawaii Collaborative Health Initiative (HI-CHI) ($5,000)
  • Hilo Medical Center ($10,000)
  • Kona Hospital Foundation ($10,000)
In 2012, the $25,000 award was divided among:
  • The Arc of Hilo ($5,000)
  • North Kohala Community Resource Center ($10,000)
  • O Ka‘u Kakou ($5,000)
  • West Hawaii Community Health Center ($5,000)
In 2011, the $25,000 award was divided among:
  • Bay Clinic, Inc. ($10,000)
  • Family Support Hawaii ($10,000)
  • Kokua Christian Ministries ($5,000)
In 2010, the award was doubled to $20,000, which was divided among:
  • Big Island Substance Abuse Council ($5,000)
  • Habitat for Humanity West Hawaii ($5,000)
  • Hamakua Health Center, Inc. ($10,000)

In 2009, the $10,000 award was divided equally between:

  • Friends of the Children’s Justice Center of East Hawaii
  • West Hawaii Mediation Center

In 2008, the $10,000 inaugural award was divided equally between:

  • Ka‘u Hospital Foundation
  • North Kohala Community Resource Center