Call toll-free, 24x7


Bank of Hawaii Foundation Announces 2013 Mike Lyons Maui Community Award Recipients

Thursday, June 20, 2013

HONOLULU, HI – Bank of Hawaii Foundation announced the recipients of this year’s Bank of Hawaii Mike Lyons Maui Community Award. Seabury Hall received $15,000. AKAKU Maui County Community Television and The Maui Farm, Inc. were each awarded $5,000. The checks were presented at a special reception held at The Maui Arts & Cultural Center on June 19.

Seabury Hall, which serves students across Maui, will use the award to help build a new Creative Art Center, allowing it to expand its arts education and offer flexible teaching, meeting and performances spaces for Maui’s children and families.

Akaku Maui County Community TV, which provides free or low-cost media training, production assistance and cable access to education, nonprofits and businesses, will use the award to help create jobs for youth graduates of its mobile journalism programs.

The Maui Farm, Inc. will use the award to improve its outdated computer network so that it can continue its services to provide housing and family strengthening in a local farm setting.

This is the tenth annual Bank of Hawaii Mike Lyons Maui Community Award presentation, which has been distributed to 19 nonprofit recipients. Last year’s recipients were Lana‘i Community Center, Habitat for Humanity Maui and Maui Economic Development Board, Inc.

The award is presented annually by Bank of Hawaii Foundation in honor of the late, retired Bank of Hawaii Senior Vice President and Maui District Manager Michael H. Lyons II. Lyons was a dedicated community leader and served as a role model throughout his 41-year career with the bank.

The award is open to any nonprofit 501(c) (3) tax-exempt organization in Maui County. Selection is based on: a) exemplary fulfillment of the organization’s mission; b) the leadership demonstrated by the organization’s executive director and board; and c) the organization’s engagement in one of the following focus areas: community development, education, human services, and arts and culture.